Tags

, , , ,

First, my apologies for the brusque, terse, uncouth and rude title. I’m using “shit” metaphorically to denote a person’s bowel health. I could have made the title “Mind The Shit”, but that would be too gross.

Moving on, I’ve been making homemade yoghurt for as long as I can remember. Sometimes I’m unsuccessful when the live culture I use died. I cannot provide CIS answers for the death of the culture since I don’t have a home-lab. See my homemade yoghurt photo below, only hours old and the milk is curdling:

My homemade yoghurt — only hours old.

This morning, an interesting article, The Psychology of Yoghurt, appeared on my Facebook wall. It reported about a research showing that a healthy gut does influence one’s mind — thinking, stress control, anxiety/fear management [aka psychological distress management]. WOW, was my first response. Although the research was conducted on lab rats, I was bowled over by the finding that “there’s nothing metaphorical about “gut feelings,” for what happens in the gut really does influence what we feel.”

There’s nothing metaphorical about “gut feelings,” for what happens in the gut really does influence what we feel.

.

This article makes me feel good. Maybe I have been doing the right thing. My daily (well, almost) consumption of homemade yoghurt (sans flavouring, colouring and sweetening). My reasons for taking yoghurt have been for regulating good bowel and colonic health, controlling body weight, monitoring my abnormal high blood pressure and combating bad guys with probiotics. The revelation suggesting yoghurt could positively condition psychological stress management is a welcome added benefit.

Of course, there are other health benefits from consuming yoghurt and dairy products, e.g. controlling osteoporosis, but they would not be discussed here.

My homemade yoghurt made with live culture (100ml from a previous batch into 900 ml fresh milk. Your "mileage" might vary if you're trying this "recipe")

Making yoghurt at home means your utensils and containers must be sterilised before use.

With live culture in full cream milk, I leave the mixture, cling-wrapped, at room temperature. Daily, I make about 1 litre of yoghurt, a cost saving of up to 80% per litre compared with commercial shelf stock (e.g. Paul’s from Australia). So then, here’s to good health without having to pay premium.

.

CAVEAT: If you have a medical condition, or you have allergic reaction consuming dairy products, you must consult your physician. This article is not a medical prescription and no warranty nor guarantee is made that eating yoghurt will improve your status quo.

.

Reference:
1.   The Psychology of Yoghurt
2.   Follow me on Facebook
3.   Suggested reading:
a) How to benefit from eating yoghurt.
b) WebMD: The benefits of yogurt.
c) 10 reasons yogurt is a Top Health Food
.

..

.

